credit: mcconnell.af.mil

credit: mcconnell.af.mil

When I served in the USAF as a security policeman in the early 70s, I was one of the few. Not only did we wear berets, we were among the very few that ever carried firearms while on duty, and among the very few that were required to regularly train and qualify with those arms. What we did not do, what no one did, with the exception of Office of Special Investigations agents, was carry concealed weapons. Every day, I collected my handgun and ammunition from an armory before I went on duty. At the end of my day, I turned them back in.

Virtually nothing has changed since then, and it surprises most Americans to learn that our military installations and bases are, for the most part, as much victim disarmament zones as schools. That’s why the Ft. Hood shooter was able to wound and kill so many (that and rampant, deranged political correctness). Our soldiers, sailors, airmen and Marines are, particularly in the continental US, walking, uniformed targets for terrorists, and terrorists know and count on that. Terrorists are now directly threatening the families of service members as well as service members.

My latest article at The Truth About GunsDisarming the Military–explores this issue. If you have a few minutes, particularly if a friend or relative is serving, it might be worth your time.