Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Joe!  Ice cream back here!  I guess so…

It only took them 10 minutes…

Wouldn’t being governor be a step down?

Dem’s political strategy for 2024?

Well, it all worked pretty well for 2022…

Uh-oh…

I’m for that…

More signs of our times…

Nooooooooooooooo!

Said Elon Musk…

I’ve always thought they were overdressed for a shoot out conducted at a corral full of horse shit…

OK…

She missed with the car, so she tried with the hammer…

They’re thoughtful that way…

And just in time for Thanksgiving…

Climate deniers!

I once played the cannon for the 1812 Overture…

I’ve complained the blues too…

Of course, doing better than the Government is no great shakes…

Solidarity, my revolutionary brothers, sisters, and whatevers…

But it must be; Joe said so…

Yeah, a master’s in gender studies goes well with “you want fries with that?”

You’d think they would have worked out the packaging by now…

I suspect we’ll see that footage about the time we see male pregnant persons giving birth…

Yep, the NYT really is the gold standard in news…

I always told my students: “time change; people don’t”…

Oh shit…

And in the just because it’s really cute department…

Awwwwwwwww…

If you haven’t already, consider buying a copy of License To Kill. If you’re interested in how the police get it wrong, there is no better primer, and my 25 children need new winter coats and boots.  It’s 25 miles to school, uphill both ways—over broken glass, naked, in a cast, in a blizzard, while avoiding the same sniper fire Hillary Clinton had to dodge.

If you get the book directly through the publisher, I’ll make a few cents more than if you get it at Amazon. It’s $17.99 at either source, and Amazon has a $4.99 Kindle edition.  Positive comments on Amazon about LTK would be great too.  Go here to comment.

And now, more humor from Richard Lederer’s classic book The Revenge Of Anguished English, which is a collection of accidentally funny things people have written and said.  This week, political gaffes:

“Nixon has been sitting in the White House while George McGovern has been exposing himself to the people of the United States.”  Rhode Island Governor Frank Licht

“Whadaya mean nepotism?  He’s my brother.”  Philadelphia Mayor Frank Rizzo

“I am a great mayor; I am an upstanding Christian man; I am an intelligent man; I am a deeply educated man.  I am a humble man.”  DC Mayor Marion Barry who was repeatedly caught smoking crack cocaine.

“I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart, and from my wife’s bottom too.” The Mayor of Montreal

“Our communities need a partner in crime, and that partner should be the city government.”  El Paso, TX political ad

“I am adamantly opposed to forcing anyone to undergo voluntary sterilization.” San Diego Councilman

“This is worst disaster in California since I was elected.”  CA Gov. Pat Brown

These days we need humor more than ever.  I’ll see you next Sunday, and I hope, every other day too!