Tags

, , , , ,

Thirty years ago, gentle readers, I founded a professional–in quality, not pay–auditioned choir in Gillette, WY: The Gillette Chamber Singers. I was much younger then, and had a great deal more hair. I had the honor of directing that wonderful group of people for the first four years of its existence, but life took me to distant places, and sadly, I turned over the baton to others.

But life also works in circles, and this coming Saturday, the Chamber singers are holding their 30th reunion concert, and have invited me–what could they have been thinking?–back to direct. I’ll be directing six numbers, the second director–Jerry Winter–will direct six, and the current director–Pat Patton–will also direct six. Singers are returning from all over the nation. It will be a grand, and rare, occasion, and I count it as one more of my many undeserved blessings.

credit: keenetrial.com

What this means for you, gentle readers, is another article about that occasion, and the nature of art. It also means I will be traveling 18 hours one way, twice, back and forth over less than seven days. Sigh. Fortunately, I enjoy driving. Unfortunately, it will make it difficult, perhaps impossible, for me to maintain my usual one-article-per-day pace here at SMM, though I’ll do my best.

In case any of you notice I’m not posting daily–I might; we’ll see–worry not. As Twain said, the reports of my death are greatly exaggerated, and I’ll see you all again next week when I’ve returned and slept for 24 hours or so.

Until then, via con Dios, and who was that masked man?

PS:  You might want to consider my contribution to this week’s Wow! Forum as my Tuesday Education article.

