AxMrI12I have spent quite a bit of time in Spearfish in the Northern Black Hills of SD. Born in Rapid City, I took my undergraduate degree at Black Hills State University in Spearfish. In case you don’t know, the Black Hills are one of the oldest granite mountain ranges in America. Mt. Rushmore is more or less in the central Black Hills, South of Rapid City. I tell you that, gentle readers, to tell you this: one doesn’t normally see this kind of thing in Spearfish, or South Dakota, for that matter.

This is the new Spearfish youth wrestling uniform, which boggles the mind–and potentially other parts. Think, gentle readers, through how many adult minds and hands this had to pass before it adorned the, ahem, growing appendages of impressionable–and excitable–SD boyhood.  I mean, what the…?  Is it a “grapple here” indicator?  A “don’t grapple here” warning?

No, no no! I mean it!  Even I am not going to joke about this. Too easy to get a rise out of… ooops.  Darn! That one just sprung up without any… ooops! I’d better quit grappling with this dilemma.

I’ll leave the rest up to you.

